AI liability insurance: what it covers and who sells it

The short answer

AI liability insurance pays claims from people harmed by what an AI system says or does, such as a hallucinated answer, a biased decision or an AI agent's mistake. It is sold as standalone policies from specialists such as Armilla, Testudo and Relm, and as AI endorsements to cyber and tech E&O. The highest published limit we track is $25M, from Armilla.

Listings in the register
28
Standalone policies
8
AI endorsements
13
Top published limit
$25M (Armilla, up to, per organization)

What is AI liability insurance?

AI liability insurance is cover for claims that arise from what an AI system says, decides or does. It is built around the behavior of the model, not only around a hack or a human slip, and it is sold in three main forms.

  • Standalone AI policies, such as Armilla's, which is designed to respond ahead of conventional cyber or E&O wording1.
  • Endorsements that write AI into a cyber, tech E&O or professional liability policy, such as the AI wording Beazley added in September 20262.
  • Programs that combine lines, such as Vanguard AI, which pairs Chaucer's cyber and tech E&O with Armilla's AI policy under agreed rules for splitting mixed losses3.

Our register holds 28 listings. This is how they break down:

  • By type: standalone policies 8, endorsements 13, programs 4, performance warranties 1, certification-backed covers 1 and planned launches 1.
  • By status: confirmed on the issuer's own pages 25, trade press only 1, and announced but not yet sold 2.

Two terms come up often. Affirmative cover means the wording says in plain terms that AI losses are in scope. Silent cover means the wording says nothing either way, which leaves the answer to a claims dispute.

What does AI liability insurance cover?

It covers claims that come from an AI system's behavior. Wording differs by insurer, but these are the risks the policies we track name most often:

  • Model errors, including hallucinations, inaccuracy, drift and underperformance1, 4.
  • Harmful or defamatory output, and IP claims over AI-generated content1, 5.
  • AI agent failures, such as wrong decisions, improper tool use or escalation errors1.
  • Discrimination claims over biased outputs5, 6.
  • Regulatory defense costs and insurable fines tied to AI use1, 7.
  • Privacy claims and data leakage that do not involve a breach1.

Some products pay your own losses rather than a third party's. Relm's RESCAAI pays response and loss costs when an AI system you rely on goes wrong, including downtime, reputational damage and recalls5. Mosaic Insurance, working with Munich Re's aiSure team, covers financial losses when a model misses defined performance thresholds8.

Beazley's AI Voluntary Shutdown Endorsement is for a business that suspends its own malfunctioning AI system to prevent further financial harm9. Two risks have their own guides: AI hallucination insurance and insurance for AI agents.

Why might your general liability or E&O not cover AI?

Most business policies were written before generative AI and say nothing about it. That silence is now being settled in both directions: some insurers are writing AI out of their policies and others are writing it in.

Writing AI out

Trade press reported that Verisk's ISO unit issued optional general liability endorsements dated January 2026, CG 40 47, CG 40 48 and CG 35 08, that remove generative AI claims10. A May 2025 law-firm alert described a W. R. Berkley 'absolute' AI exclusion in D&O, E&O and fiduciary policies11.

Writing AI in

Coalition added AI security events to its cyber trigger in 202412. Beazley added affirmative AI wording to cyber and tech E&O in September 20262, and CFC wrote explicit AI wording into seven products in June 20264.

The exclusions are spreading. A Trades Coverage review of admitted-market filings through 31 July 2026, reported by Beinsure, counted 4,078 filed adoptions of generative AI exclusion forms across 49 states and DC, 2,369 of them in force13, 14. Filings show adoptions, not policies sold: they do not show whether an exclusion was attached to an issued policy, and the review does not capture the non-admitted market13.

In November 2025 the Financial Times reported that insurers had asked US regulators to approve AI exclusions. Beinsure's account names AIG, Great American and W. R. Berkley, while TechCrunch's names Chubb in place of AIG15, 16. AIG has said it has no current plans to use the exclusions it filed16.

Insurance Business later reported that Chubb, Travelers, W. R. Berkley, Berkshire Hathaway and AIG had each filed to adopt ISO's forms or their own versions by April 2026, without giving states or filing numbers17. Beinsure reported that Chubb covers some AI incidents but excludes those that could cause damage on a wide scale at the same time, without naming a product or policy line15.

If you cannot tell which side your policy is on, our coverage checker shows where to look, and the exclusions tracker lists the forms and filings we follow. For E&O in detail, see does tech E&O cover AI.

Who sells AI liability insurance?

The standalone policies and programs below are written for AI risk. Larger carriers such as Beazley, AXA XL and Hiscox have mainly added AI wording to policies they already sell2, 18, 19.

  • ArmillaArmilla Insured$25Mup to, per organizationSurplus lines brokers, or Armilla underwriting after an AI risk assessment
  • TestudoGenerative AI Liability Insurance$10Mlimits from $1M to $10MThrough brokers, on a US excess and surplus lines basis
  • Relm InsuranceNOVAAILimit not publishedLicensed brokers
  • Relm InsurancePONTAAILimit not publishedLicensed brokers
  • Relm InsuranceRESCAAILimit not publishedLicensed brokers
  • Mosaic Insurance and Munich ReAI performance cover15Minitial capacity, EUR, USD or CADThrough brokers
  • Cowbell and ChaucerPrime One$10Mmaximum limitHow to buy not stated
  • AIUC and BeazleySpecialist AI liability product on Beazley paper (trade press)Limit not publishedHow to buy not stated
  • Chaucer and ArmillaVanguard AI$25M+AI aggregate, alongside $10M cyberSurplus lines brokers
  • Mayflower Specialty and Hadron InsuranceAI liability programLimit not publishedDirect, through a broker, or embedded through partners
  • Munich ReaiSureLimit not publishedMunich Re directly, or partner programs
  • Google CloudRisk Protection Program with affirmative AI coverLimit not publishedThrough a licensed broker after a free security scan

Armilla's policy is placed on Lloyd's paper through surplus lines brokers, and each policy comes with independent certification of the AI system and risk reporting1. Armilla launched it in April 2025, co-developed with Chaucer20.

Testudo, a Lloyd's coverholder, launched standalone third-party liability cover for US companies deploying generative AI on 21 January 202621. It sells only through brokers, on an excess and surplus lines basis, and the cover is not offered in some states22. Atrium and QBE joined Apollo on its capacity panel in February 202623.

Relm, a Bermuda insurer, launched three AI policies in January 2025: NOVAAI for companies that build AI, PONTAAI as an excess wrap over existing liability programs, and RESCAAI for first-party losses5. Cowbell's Prime One is a non-admitted cyber policy for US businesses with $250 million to $1 billion in revenue that names AI-related incidents as covered24.

The Mayflower Specialty and Hadron Insurance program has four modules: AI D&O, AI EPL, AI E&O and an AI difference-in-conditions excess layer over an existing program. Policies are issued by Hadron Specialty Insurance Company and backed by Lloyd's market reinsurers, with Aon structuring the placement25. It is for US businesses, availability of each coverage varies by state, and the companies call it the first dedicated affirmative AI liability program in the US market, which is their own claim25, 26.

Some listings are not yet confirmed as on sale. HSB announced small-business AI liability cover in March 2026, to be sold through partner carriers once regulators approve it27. Trade press reported in May 2026 that AIUC secured Beazley capacity for a specialist AI liability product, but the only source we could read is an aggregator write-up28.

Ollive pairs runtime monitoring of AI agents with planned liability cover for AI vendors. Its own page says the insurance program is being designed, with risk to be carried by a licensed insurer it does not name29. Company profiles and their dated changes are on who insures AI, and the tracker log lists market events by date.

Can you add AI cover to a policy you already have?

Sometimes. Several insurers sell endorsements, or have rewritten their wording, so that AI sits inside a cyber, tech E&O or professional liability policy.

  • BeazleyAffirmative AI wordingLimit not publishedHow to buy not stated
  • BeazleyAI Voluntary Shutdown EndorsementLimit not publishedAdded to Beazley cyber policies
  • BeazleyAI Regulatory Defence & Penalties EndorsementLimit not publishedAdded to Beazley cyber policies
  • CFCAffirmative AI wording across seven productsLimit not publishedBuilt into CFC products
  • CoalitionAffirmative AI EndorsementLimit not publishedThrough brokers
  • CoalitionDeepfake Response EndorsementLimit not publishedThrough brokers
  • AXA XLGen AI endorsement to CyberRiskConnectLimit not publishedHow to buy not stated
  • HiscoxTechnology Professional Indemnity with affirmative AI coverLimit not publishedHow to buy not stated
  • CounterpartAffirmative AI CoverageLimit not publishedThrough brokers
  • CorgiModular AI coverage on tech E&OLimit not publishedOnline, direct
  • EmbrokerArtificial Intelligence Coverage Endorsement$150Kfor algorithm removalOnline, direct
  • Vouch and HiscoxAI endorsement on E&O, with CorixLimit not publishedThrough Vouch
  • HSB and Munich ReAI Liability Insurance for small businesses (announced)Limit not publishedThrough partner carriers

Embroker publishes a figure: its Artificial Intelligence Coverage Endorsement, in effect since 5 August 2025, caps algorithm-removal costs at $150,000, and Embroker says other AI claims get full policy limits6. The other endorsements state no AI limit on the pages we read.

Beazley's three AI endorsements sit on its Full Spectrum Cyber policy: affirmative AI wording, AI Voluntary Shutdown, and AI Regulatory Defence & Penalties9. Its 17 September 2026 page said the wording was offered on an admitted basis in some US states as well as surplus lines2. Its 6 October page lists the three as US surplus lines only, with Canada shown as preliminary, and states no limit, sublimit or retention9.

CFC's wording covers Tech E&O, Professional Liability, eHealth, Intellectual Property, Management Liability, Media and Cyber Proactive Response, and addresses hallucination, AI-generated content and model drift4. Its Media policy and cyber changes took effect on 30 July 202630. In September 2026 CFC moved most of its financial institutions products onto its Cyber Proactive Response wording, which covers AI-related cyber exposures31, and confirmed that IP claims involving AI stay covered where they otherwise meet the policy's terms32.

AXA XL added a generative AI endorsement to its CyberRiskConnect policy in October 2024 for companies that build their own models18. Hiscox rewrote its UK technology professional indemnity wording so client claims from the insured's use of AI are expressly covered19. Counterpart added explicit cover for errors by AI tools to its small-business professional liability lines33. Vouch says it can place E&O for AI companies with an AI endorsement from Corix, which it describes as a division of Hiscox34.

Zurich told Business Insurance in April 2026 that some insurers have issued endorsements clarifying whether AI is meant to be covered, and that endorsements broadening cover for AI-related regulatory fines are increasingly available35. That is market commentary, not a Zurich product launch.

How much does AI liability insurance cost?

No insurer we track publishes prices for AI liability cover. Premiums are set in underwriting, which for AI can start with a review of the system itself.

Armilla's policies come with independent AI system certification1, AIUC ties insurance terms to an audit against its AIUC-1 standard36, and Mayflower says it scores risks such as bias, drift and hallucination26. 6 of the 28 listings in our register publish a limit figure:

  • Armilla: up to $25M per organization1.
  • Vanguard AI: AI aggregate limits of $25M or more, alongside $10M of cyber3.
  • Cowbell Prime One: up to $10M24.
  • Testudo: limits from $1M to $10M, per its launch post21. Atrium's February 2026 release cited up to $9.25M per insured23.
  • Mosaic and Munich Re: up to 15 million of initial capacity, in euros, US dollars or Canadian dollars8.
  • Embroker: $150,000 for algorithm removal6.

Sublimits can matter more than headline limits. Beinsure, relaying Financial Times reporting, said QBE offers capped cover for EU AI Act fines by endorsement, limited to 2.5% of the insured limit. We have not seen QBE's wording, the policy line or the date15.

For scale, Deloitte estimated in May 2024 that annual global AI insurance premiums could reach about $4.7 billion by 203237. That is a projection, not a measure of today's market.

How do you buy AI liability insurance?

Brokers are the most common route named in our register, including surplus lines brokers for Armilla and Vanguard AI. Corgi and Embroker sell online and direct, and Mayflower sells direct, through brokers or embedded through partners38, 6, 25.

Surplus lines, also called non-admitted, cover is written by an insurer that is not licensed in your state and placed through a broker who is licensed to place it. It lets insurers write new kinds of risk on their own forms. Armilla, Testudo, Cowbell's Prime One and Beazley's AI endorsements are sold this way1, 22, 24, 9.

Some AI cover arrives through a third party. Google Cloud's Risk Protection Program pairs a free security scan with cyber policies from partner insurers. Google announced affirmative AI cover for Google-related AI workloads as available in May 2025 but does not say which partner writes it, and the program as a whole is labelled Preview39, 40. AIUC links insurance terms to an audit against its AIUC-1 standard for AI agents36.

AI Insurance Tracker does not sell insurance. Ask a licensed broker to confirm the wording, limits and exclusions of any policy before you rely on it.

Building an AI product? The AI startup insurance guide covers tech E&O, cyber and D&O by stage.

Questions

Is AI liability insurance the same as cyber insurance?

No. Cyber insurance is built around breaches, attacks and system outages. AI liability cover responds to harm from what an AI system outputs or does, such as a wrong answer or a biased decision. Some cyber policies now add AI wording, including Beazley's and Coalition's, but the two are still separate lines of cover.

Is there AI cover for companies that only use AI, not build it?

Yes. 10 listings in our register are aimed only at companies that use AI, including Testudo's generative AI liability policy, Beazley's cyber endorsements and HSB's announced small-business cover. Another 9 are written for companies that build or use AI, so they are open to businesses that only deploy AI tools as well.

What is the highest limit available for AI liability insurance?

The highest published limit we track is Armilla's, up to $25M per organization. The Chaucer and Armilla Vanguard AI program states AI aggregate limits of $25M or more alongside $10M of cyber. Only 6 of the 28 listings publish a limit figure; for the rest, the ceiling depends on underwriting.

When did ISO's generative AI exclusions take effect?

Verisk's ISO unit issued optional generative AI endorsements for general liability, CG 40 47, CG 40 48 and CG 35 08, with a January 2026 edition date. Trade press says six forms were published, but our sources name these three. Insurers must file and attach them, and 4,078 filed adoptions were reported through July 2026.

What changed in this guide

  • 21 Oct 2026: First published. Rebuilt from the register; Beazley, CFC, Testudo, Mosaic, Google Cloud and Mayflower entries confirmed on the issuers' own pages.

Sources

  1. 1Affirmative AI Coverage
    Armilla AI, undated page
  2. 2Beazley confirms affirmative AI cyber cover
    Beazley, 17 Sep 2026
  3. 3Chaucer and Armilla AI launch Vanguard AI
    Chaucer Group, 10 Feb 2026
  4. 4CFC responds to customer demand for affirmative AI cover
    CFC, 25 Jun 2026
  5. 5Relm Insurance launches AI suite
    Relm Insurance, 14 Jan 2025
  6. 6Embroker's AI Coverage: Built for the way tech companies actually use AI
    Embroker, 26 May 2026
  7. 7Beazley expands cyber protection
    Beazley, 24 Sep 2026
  8. 8Mosaic partners with Munich Re's aiSure to provide pioneering coverage for AI vendors
    Mosaic Insurance, 26 Feb 2026
  9. 9Your clients are adopting AI. Is their cyber protection keeping pace?
    Beazley, 6 Oct 2026
  10. 10Verisk to Roll Out New General Liability Exclusions for Generative AI Exposures
    independentagent.com, 21 Oct 2025
  11. 11The Continued Proliferation of AI Exclusions
    Hunton Andrews Kurth, 28 May 2025
  12. 12Coalition Adds New Affirmative AI Endorsement to Cyber Policies
    Coalition, 26 Mar 2024
  13. 13Generative AI Exclusions Spread Across Contractor Insurance Policies
    Beinsure, 25 Aug 2026
  14. 14The AI clause that may already be on your contractor client's policy
    Insurance Business, 25 Aug 2026
  15. 15Insurers move to ring-fence AI liability
    Beinsure, 2 Feb 2026
  16. 16AI is too risky to insure, say people whose job is insuring risk
    TechCrunch, 23 Nov 2025
  17. 17ISO's generative AI exclusion is already on thousands of CGL policies
    Insurance Business, 16 Sep 2026
  18. 18AXA XL unveils new cyber insurance extending coverage to help businesses manage emerging Gen AI risks
    AXA XL, 21 Oct 2024
  19. 19Technology professional indemnity for brokers, with affirmative AI cover
    Hiscox UK, 14 May 2025
  20. 20Chaucer and Armilla AI launch AI liability insurance
    Insurance Business, 24 Apr 2025
  21. 21Testudo Launches Standalone AI Liability Insurance for Generative AI Systems
    Testudo, 21 Jan 2026
  22. 22AI Liability Insurance for Businesses
    Testudo, undated page
  23. 23Atrium Commits Capacity to Generative AI Liability Insurance
    Atrium Underwriting Group, 26 Feb 2026
  24. 24Prime One: US launch for emerging AI and quantum risks
    Cowbell, 21 Apr 2026
  25. 25AI Liability Coverage: D&O, EPL, E&O
    Mayflower Specialty, undated page
  26. 26Mayflower and Hadron launch the first dedicated affirmative AI liability program in the US market
    Mayflower and Hadron (via Business Wire), 24 Jun 2026
  27. 27HSB Introduces AI Liability Insurance for Small Businesses
    Munich Re / HSB, 18 Mar 2026
  28. 28AIUC secures Beazley capacity for specialist AI liability product
    Complete AI Training, 15 May 2026
  29. 29AI Liability Insurance
    Ollive, undated page
  30. 30CFC brings affirmative AI cover to media companies worldwide
    CFC, 29 Jul 2026
  31. 31CFC strengthens FI suite with CPR and affirmative AI cover
    CFC, 17 Sep 2026
  32. 32CFC launches affirmative AI cover for intellectual property risks
    CFC, 23 Sep 2026
  33. 33Counterpart addresses critical coverage gap with affirmative AI coverage
    Business Wire, 21 Nov 2025
  34. 34Insurance for AI Companies
    Vouch, undated page
  35. 35Insurers, brokers adjust as AI exclusions emerge
    Business Insurance, 7 Apr 2026
  36. 36Artificial Intelligence Underwriting Company (homepage)
    AIUC, undated page
  37. 37Using AI insurance to manage the risks of artificial intelligence
    Deloitte Insights, 29 May 2024
  38. 38Corgi AI Insurance
    Corgi, undated page
  39. 39Expanding our Risk Protection Program with new insurance partners and AI coverage
    Google Cloud, 15 May 2025
  40. 40Cyber Insurance Hub / Risk Protection Program
    Google Cloud, undated page

This guide is general information, not insurance or legal advice. We do not sell insurance. Confirm terms with a licensed broker.