Armilla AI is an MGA and Lloyd's coverholder that sells standalone affirmative AI liability insurance, an AI performance warranty, and, with Chaucer, the Vanguard AI program.
Armilla's standalone policy responds to third-party losses caused by AI behaviour, such as hallucinations, drift, harmful outputs and agent mistakes, and is designed to respond ahead of conventional cyber or E&O wording. Each policy comes with independent AI system certification and risk reporting and is placed on Lloyd's paper through surplus lines brokers.
Item 1
Published limit
$25M
up to, per organization
Item 2
Type
Standalone policy
Item 3
For
Companies that build or use AI
Item 4
How to buy
Surplus lines brokers, or Armilla underwriting after an AI risk assessment
Item 5
Backed by
Certain Lloyd's underwriters via Armilla Insurance Services (Lloyd's coverholder); Armilla's coverage page names Chaucer Group, AXIS Capital and Convex
Item 6
Who it is for
AI scale-ups, large tech platforms, mid-market and Fortune 1000 enterprises
Item 7
Where
US-based clients with global territorial limits (April 2025 launch coverage); surplus lines, availability varies by jurisdiction
Item 8
Launched
April 2025
Item 9
Risks named
Hallucinations and model errors, AI agent errors, IP and content claims, Bias and discrimination, AI regulatory fines and defence, Privacy and data leakage
Item 10
Record
Confirmed by issuer
What the sources don't say: Armilla's $25M release is dated 21 January 2026 in its header but 21 January 2025 in its body; its customer page says January 2026, and Beinsure reported the increase on 25 September 2026. Insurance Business says the product was co-developed with Chaucer, which leads the binder. Cover is placed through surplus lines and is not bound until confirmed in writing.
Two-part structure from Chaucer and Armilla that pairs Chaucer's cyber and tech E&O with Armilla's standalone AI liability policy under agreed rules for splitting mixed losses. The aim is to stop AI-driven claims from eating into cyber or tech E&O limits.
Item 1
Published limit
$25M+
AI aggregate, alongside $10M cyber
Item 2
Type
Program
Item 3
For
Companies that use AI
Item 4
How to buy
Surplus lines brokers
Item 5
Backed by
Chaucer (China Re Group member, via Lloyd's and company markets) for cyber/tech E&O; Armilla AI policy underwritten as Lloyd's coverholder
Item 6
Who it is for
Organisations deploying AI at scale, including generative AI and customer-facing agents
Item 7
Where
Not stated
Item 8
Launched
10 February 2026
Item 9
Risks named
Hallucinations and model errors, AI agent errors, AI-driven cyber events
Item 10
Record
Confirmed by issuer
What the sources don't say: Chaucer's release gives a $25M+ AI aggregate alongside $10M of cyber cover; the same sentence in Armilla's release is garbled, so the limit shown follows Chaucer's version. The sources do not state a territory for this product.
A performance warranty that lets an AI vendor stand behind specified accuracy or quality metrics, with a pay-out funded if those metrics are not met. Armilla stresses that this is a contractual guarantee rather than an insurance policy.
Item 1
Published limit
Not published
Item 2
Type
Performance warranty
Item 3
For
Companies that build AI
Item 4
How to buy
Contact Armilla after an AI risk assessment
Item 5
Backed by
Armilla's coverage page shows Chaucer Group, Greenlight Re and Swiss Re
Item 6
Who it is for
AI solution developers / vendors
Item 7
Where
Not stated
Item 8
Launched
Not stated
Item 9
Risks named
Model performance and downtime
Item 10
Record
Confirmed by issuer
What the sources don't say: The sources give no limit or launch date. Insurance Business (April 2025) says Armilla's standalone liability product built on an earlier warranty-style product from Chaucer and Armilla, but gives no date for the warranty.
Yes. The register lists 3 offerings from Armilla: Armilla Insured (standalone policy), Vanguard AI (program) and Armilla Guaranteed (performance warranty). Each is confirmed on the issuer's own pages.
What limits does Armilla publish?
Armilla Insured: Up to $25M per organization; Vanguard AI: $25M+, AI aggregate, alongside $10M cyber. Limits for the other offerings listed here are not published.
How do you buy Armilla's AI cover?
Armilla Insured: Surplus lines brokers, or Armilla underwriting after an AI risk assessment; Vanguard AI: Surplus lines brokers; Armilla Guaranteed: Contact Armilla after an AI risk assessment. We do not sell insurance or take commissions.